Oct 09

In an earlier post we spoke of fair housing laws. So what are the protected classes?

All states and many municipalities have their own protected classes in addition to the federal protections.   These protections are:

Note: if you are outside of Milwaukee, Dane County or City of Madison, there still may be local ordinances that affect you, but are not listed here.  If you are aware of a local ordinance please post a link  in the comments section below

Federal Fair Housing Protected Classes (Link to Federal Classes)

  • Race Color
  • Family Status
  • Disability
  • Sex
  • Religion

Wisconsin Fair Housing Protected Classes (Link to §106.50)

  • Race
  • Family Status
  • Sexual Orientation
  • Source of Income
  • Disability
  • Ancestry
  • Sex
  • Marital Status
  • Religion
  • National Origin
  • Color
  • Age

City of Milwaukee Fair Housing Protected Classes(Link to Ch. 109)

  • sex
  • race
  • religion
  • color,
  • national origin or ancestry
  • age
  • disability
  • lawful
  • source of income
  • marital status
  • sexual orientation
  • gender identity or expression,
  • past or present membership in the military service,
  • familial status,

Madison and Dane County Addition to State and Federal Classes (Link)

  • type of military discharge
  • arrest or conviction record (limited protections)
  • physical appearance
  • political beliefs
  • student status
  • victims of domestic abuse or other crimes (limited protections)
  • refusal to disclose Social Security Number (City of Madison only).

Leave a Reply

preload preload preload